Kowloon Curry House & Bar

Kowloon Curry House & Bar

If I could be one type of food, I’d be a dumpling. Warm and safe, permanently cocooned in a hug, I can think of no better place to be.  Now, if I were to be a dumpling, my biggest problem would be the fact that I love love love to eat dumplings.

I am a massive dumpling girl. It’s my feel-good comfort food, like a hug in my tummy. My current favourite is definitely Nepalese dumplings. Steamed momos which come with a tangy spicy sauce always hits just the right spot.

So when my dad came home and announced he had found, what he called, “the best momos” in town – I knew I had to go.

Tucked away in sleepy Jordan, this South Asian restaurant is truly a hidden gem. Even though, it’s located on Temple Street (home of Temple market), it’s unlikely to be one that’s filled with tourists because its hidden across the road, masked by mah jong houses and massage parlours.

With that said, this hole-in-the-wall can keep its neighbourhood charm – which, in my books, is always a good thing.

Seating around 30 to 40 people, it’s by no means a big place – but it did offer a generous menu for me and my hungry friend.

In the end, we each order an appetiser and a curry which was topped off with a lassi.

From the moment the appetizers hit the table, the aroma was mouth-watering. The potatoes (aloo dum) are baby potatoes simmered in a masala curry gravy and mixed with a yoghurt base, making it a dreamy creamy delight. Cooked to perfection, with just the right subtle kick of spice.

Aloo Dum

Then came the highlight of my evening: the steamed pork momos. At only $30 a plate, this is by far the best bargain and perhaps the cheapest way to put a smile on my face. As my dad raved, they were pretty amazing.  While I admit that some momos were overcooked, it was still juicy and delicious. And at that price, who’s complaining?

Steamed Pork Momos

The curries we ordered kept up to the standard too. Although on first look, it seemed like we were served waaaaay too much rice for the curry, it was definitely not the case. My mutton masala was had a beautiful red-brown colour to it and was as delicious as it looked. The lamb, which I know can sometimes be too gamey, was amazing. Tender and still moist, the spices shielded any gamey-ness it might have had, whilst maintaining that inherent ‘lamb taste’. I litearlly don’t even have the words for it – but it was delicious and a must try.

 Curries

I was so absorbed in my curry (and finishing up my food), I didn’t even try my friend’s dahl – but the way he inhaled his food, I’m assuming it was just as good as mine.

To top off our delicious meals, we each had a lassi (one mango and one banana). To mix things up a bit, we blended the drinks together for a couple of sips – and they were EVEN better after that. The fruity yoghurt drink by no means tasted artificial and was creamy and smooth – the perfect drink to accompany our spicy meal.

Mango Lassi and Banana Lassi

Our entire meal rounded up to $250, which is a bargain given how much we had to eat. And II left the restaurant feeling like a dumpling –  100% stuffed.

Kowloon Curry House & Bar
M/F & G/F., 266 Temple Street, Jordan  Hong Kong
+852 2384 3570

This entry was published on March 17, 2013 at 4:02 pm. It’s filed under Dumplings, Kowloon, South-East Asian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment